NaNoWriMo

Posted by: yonuh

NaNoWriMo - 09/01/11 02:52 AM

I'm posting this here because one of the suggestions was to tell everyone I know that I've signed up for NaNoWriMo. This way I won't chicken out and quit half way through. I've never done this before but I'm figuring it's a good way to make myself sit down and write!
Posted by: jabber

Re: NaNoWriMo - 09/01/11 02:04 PM

yonuh,
Had 2 C what that's about. I'm already working on a novel, so there's no point in beginning. But I wish you lots of luck in whatever U undertake!!!
Posted by: Sandy N.

Re: NaNoWriMo - 09/14/11 04:14 AM

Yonuh: I participated in NaNoWriMo in 2009 and ended up with a novel (not the one that's on Amazon). Now I'm trying to edit it to get it ready for publication. It's a mess! The good thing about NaNoWriMo is that you get words on paper and make a start. The bad thing is that the words aren't necessarily good. But as someone once said, you can't edit a blank page, and sometimes a few gems appear to surprise you. Now I'm deciding if I want to do it again this November since I have an idea for another book.
Do you have a germ of an idea?

Re: NaNoWriMo - 09/14/11 02:44 PM

I have several ideas, Sandy, and that's the problem. I usually have so many ideas that I tend to dither about which one to use and end up doing nothing. So signing up for NaNoWriMo (and telling everybody I know! lol) is a way to get me off my butt, so to speak, and actually write something. Even if a lot of it is garbage at first, usually once I get in the rhythm of writing it just flows. I describe it as being a conduit for the story as it just flows through my fingers as if someone else is dictating it and I'm just putting the words on paper! Weird feeling!!

Re: NaNoWriMo - 09/14/11 08:59 PM

It's great when that conduit works, isn't it? I'm in the process of adding alliteration, similes, description, the senses, etc., as well as more humor (and anything else I can think of!) Time-consuming but fun too.