The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 146 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
#210851 - 02/03/11 02:04 PM Re: High school in the late 60's, early 70's [Re: Anne Holmes]
jabber Offline

Loc: New York State
When you look around the world at unrest and uprisings, gratitude
is the first thing which pops into your head. The 2nd thought is
praying for God to send the Holy Spirit Comforter to undergird
those in need.

#210946 - 02/08/11 07:19 PM Re: High school in the late 60's, early 70's [Re: jabber]
Sandpiper Offline

Loc: Kissimmee, Florida
I graduated in 1967 Rock Falls, Illinois. Amazing to think it's been that long. I was not part of the "in" crowd but had my own set of girlfriends. My sisters and I were not allowed to attend any after school functions or join clubs because we had to go right home. No real idea why, those were just the rules of my family. As a family we did lots of things so I guess they thought we went to school to learn and that was that. I was pretty religious then and carried my Bible to school and read it during my Study Halls when my work was done. We had two hours a day in study halls.
We also had to wear skirts or dresses that, if the teachers thought was too short, we had to kneel on the floor and the hem better touch it. If not, we were sent home to change. Never any slacks allowed. I thought the dress code was terrible and knew they stopped it a couple of years after I graduated.
Sounds like that was the norm for everyone at the time. But still glad I'm from those days.
www.tidedancer.com

#210975 - 02/09/11 08:37 PM Re: High school in the late 60's, early 70's [Re: Sandpiper]
jabber Offline

Schools nowadays allow jeans, I think. I would've loved that.