The Soap lady meets the Senator
baby chicks
Angel
Quilted Christmas Stocking
Latest Quilt
Shelter from the storm
A new life
Who's Online
0 Registered (), 176 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
3239 Members
63 Forums
16332 Topics
210704 Posts

Max Online: 409 @ 01/17/20 03:33 AM
Topic Options
#216699 - 03/20/12 07:58 PM AMC's "Mad Men" returns Sunday after 17 months
Anne Holmes Administrator Offline
Boomer in Chief

Loc: Illinois
Jabber just mentioned the new season of Dancing with the Stars, which I know both she and Chatty love. I catch it when I can, and I love to watch the dancing, so I'm a fan as well - though not a rabid fan.

However, I am really excited with the news that AMC's hit show "Mad Men" is finally returning this Sunday for Season 5 after a 17-month hiatus.

Anyone else watch this show? It's a "guilty pleasure" type of show for me, and Steve has no interest in it. But considering that I worked in the advertising field for most of my pre-NABBW career, I have a built-in bias for it.

Beyond my history of working as an ad agency media director, copywriter, production manager and eventually creative director, I also taught advertising 101 at a couple of local colleges. Many of the classic ad campaigns I showcased in my lectures on how marketing got to where we are today are campaigns from the 60s, so the show's backdrop is kind of like "home" for me.

Not that there was all that much sex and boozing happening at the places I worked -- after all, I lived in the Midwest, where things are more tame.

Still, I find the beautiful clothes and the storylines fun to watch.

In case you, like me, will need a bit of a refresher to get up to speed with the storyline, Sunday's episode is 2 hours long. And here are updates from TV Guide, TV Guide, AMC and The Daily Beast

And if that's not enough, you can always subscribe to Media Post's "Mad Blog"

www.boomerlifestyle.com
www.boomerco.com